Author Topic: New member Hello  (Read 1276 times)

Offline garyp

New member Hello
« on: Saturday,August 06, 2022, 07:46:43 AM »
Hi all:
My name is Gary Pollard and I am the new proud owner of a '74 TC Special, 4224R.  I haven't actually seen the car as it is on a truck from California as I write this.  It should arrive at my home in Wendell, NC sometime next week.  I had some friends with Lotus experience look at it and was told that it is unmolested and runs well.  It might need a clutch and definitely needs some work on the shift linkage to the 365 gearbox.  I am looking forward to the challenge.
A little about me.  By education I am an electrical engineer and by profession, a software engineer.  I work for a large French company and am currently working applying artificial intelligence to energy management systems.  I have had British cars for most of my life.  When I was 17, I took my summer job earnings and bought a new MG Midget (my dad thought that a Pinto would have been safer).  When I finished my education, I took a job in aerospace in Southern California and bought a very tired '51 Bentley to drive to work.  Other than the perennial problems with rust, the car was completely reliable and I drove is as my only car for over 8 years.  A friend's father sold a '62 Land Rover station wagon to me in a number of crates (I had to sweep the garage floor to get all of its parts).  I rebuilt everything but the gearbox and front axle.  The day I finished it, a friend and I drove it from LA to Raleigh, NC so that I could begin a new job, sort of a 2500 mile test drive.  I drove it every day until to lure of air conditioning was too great and I bought a Honda.  I have always admired the Europa and have been half-halfheartedly looking for one.  I finally found what I wanted in LA, which brings this up to the present.