Author Topic: Why does my brake pedal go to the floor  (Read 879 times)

Offline Sparkrite

Why does my brake pedal go to the floor
« on: Saturday,May 15, 2021, 11:00:20 AM »
I am trying to get my federal tcs roadworthy and I am now tackling the brakes. I have revised the rear drums with new wheel cylinders and then bled them . I wanted to pull apart the front calipers but had to settle for just bleeding them for the moment as I could not undo the brake pipe nuts.
However my question is why is does my brake pedal go to the floor. I am thinking it is something to do with the master cylinder,even though it was capable of bleeding the brakes.
The master cylinder is original with the large reservoir and palm sized cap.

Offline Pete

Re: Why does my brake pedal go to the floor
« Reply #1 on: Saturday,May 15, 2021, 11:38:31 AM »
Yeah it sounds like your cylinder has given up the ghost
Europa S2 1970 great car
Me complete novice mechanic..
Let’s see how the restore goes.

Offline BDA

« Reply #2 on: Saturday,May 15, 2021, 11:49:12 AM »
I am assuming that you see no fluid leaks. I think a small leak that you are likely to miss would more likely give you a soft pedal but it's possible that a larger leak could be collecting somewhere you don't see. Check all your fittings. If you're unsure, wrap the suspect fittings or parts of the pipes with something that is absorbent and display the leak. I've used pieces toilet paper or paper towel in the past. You could try talcum power. I'm sure there are others.

You say your bled your lines. Did you get a pedal then? When did your pedal start going to the floor? As a reminder, you should start bleeding your brakes at the cylinder furthest from your M/C and progressively get closer to the M/C. Unless your brake system has been rerouted, the cylinder furthest from the M/C is the passenger side brake caliper.

When your pedal goes to the floor, are you using up brake fluid (i.e. is the fluid level in your reservoir going down)?