Author Topic: Initial wedge engine run in .  (Read 169 times)

Offline dakazman

Initial wedge engine run in .
« on: Friday,November 11, 2022, 04:10:14 PM »
   Coming close to starting my 821-30 engine for the first time .   First time for me also to hear an wedge start in real time. I’ve seen videos of engine starts that we’re not started in years but not initial run-in. What speed and how long?  Also a first run for the Weber 40 dcoe . Any advice will be appreciated.
Dakazman

Offline BDA

Re: Initial wedge engine run in .
« Reply #1 on: Friday,November 11, 2022, 04:34:07 PM »
Here is a video that gives a good explanation of how to initially set the carbs in a reasonable setup for first starting: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FoUOcPYqDmU

He also tells you how to set the idle mixture by ear but my ears are not discerning or I’m not experienced enough or I’m just too thick to do that so I used a ColotTune which gives you a view into the combustion chamber so you can tune by the color of the flame. They say a blue flame is what you’re looking for but that ends up being too lean but a half and half blue/yellow flame works pretty well.

I’m interested in what others say about first startups. Thick old me wouldn’t make any distinction between your wedge engine and any other motor. Get oil pressure before you turn the ignition on, keep it running somehow at as low a speed as possible - certainly less than 3000 rpm. Monitor the oil pressure. Check for leaks, rattles, etc., try to adjust the carbs, burp the cooling system if you were able to run it long enough to get hot. In general, keep it very low stress.

Offline dakazman

« Reply #2 on: Friday,November 11, 2022, 06:27:27 PM »
  Thanks BDA,
  I’ll get right on that video.
Dakazman

Offline jbcollier

« Reply #3 on: Saturday,November 12, 2022, 05:54:46 AM »