Author Topic: Jacking points  (Read 680 times)

Offline HowieRPM

Jacking points
« on: Thursday,April 15, 2021, 02:00:14 AM »
Please excuse the relatively simple question but I am new to these delicate sports cars. For general maintenance  where is the best place independently front and back to jack the car up without risk of damage ?
Thanks
Neil

Offline Pete

Re: Jacking points
« Reply #1 on: Thursday,April 15, 2021, 04:53:28 AM »
I’ve just had this issue.

I used the flat jack that came with the car and slipped it behind the front wheel and managed to reach the big metal section and jacked it there.

At the back I just stuck a jack on the metal bar below the reg then just two stands either side on the frame of the chassis
« Last Edit: Thursday,April 15, 2021, 04:59:58 AM by Pete »
Europa S2 1970 great car
Me complete novice mechanic..
Let’s see how the restore goes.

Offline dakazman

« Reply #2 on: Thursday,April 15, 2021, 05:00:40 AM »
  Here is another thread that may be helpful.
http://www.lotuseuropa.org/LotusForum/index.php?topic=2627.msg25245#msg25245

By putting, “jacking “ into the search box will also come up with a few more.
Dakazman

Offline jbcollier

« Reply #3 on: Thursday,April 15, 2021, 07:18:40 AM »
I jack under the front chassis "T" section.  I use a low profile jack and a thin piece of wood.  After it is in the air, I place jack stands at the outer parts off the "T" section.  At the rear I jack on the chassis tube that supports the transaxle mount.  I use this set-up for jack stands at the rear:

I will sometimes also use ramps under the wheels as jack stands, very secure that way.

Never, never, never go under a vehicle that is just supported by a jack, or multiple jacks.  It has to be properly supported by jack stands to be safe.

Do not place jack stands under the rear radius arms.  There are just box-sectioned, sheet steel and are easily deformed.