Author Topic: OBD Scanners Where are we at now?  (Read 581 times)

Offline dakazman

OBD Scanners Where are we at now?
« on: Saturday,January 13, 2024, 02:34:07 PM »
  I'm looking to purchase a new OBD scanner  this is like trying to figure what processer and what operating system is best , not to mention type of connectivity. Of course being a tightwad and seeing prices between 25 and 999$ I almost came to the conclusion that bringing the the down to the local parts supplier is the best course of action.
   ANY COMMENTS?
Dakazman

Offline BDA

Re: OBD Scanners Where are we at now?
« Reply #1 on: Saturday,January 13, 2024, 08:37:54 PM »
I’m no expert. I bought a cheap one a long time ago for my 2005 Mercedes. If I get a CEL (check engine light), I get the code and check with the Mercedes forum I used to frequent or do a search for it. Normally that tells me what I have needed to know. I know however that there are codes that I won’t be able to get. If I need them, I’ll usually need to go to a stealer and have them take care of it anyway.

I’m not sure what the difference between a cheap and expensive scanner is. I suspect the expensive ones can sniff “deeper” in the … bus, I guess, but it could be that it just tells you more about the problem. If it’s the latter, I wouldn’t think it’s worth the price. If it’s the former, you need to decide how deeply in the electronic guts you are prepared to go.

edit: Brian’s post (below) reminds me to say that my cheap scanner will clear codes - at least all the codes I’ve found so far. It may be the case that there are classes of codes that require a stealer to clear but I think, but I’m not positive, that they would be the codes that it can’t read anyway.

Without getting too deeply into how the codes work (because I don’t remember!) some faults are scanned for periodically (miles or time) so if you clear one of those codes but don’t fix the problem, the code will pop up again until the problem is fixed.