Author Topic: Good buy?  (Read 284 times)

Offline marklocklear

Good buy?
« on: Tuesday,September 27, 2022, 04:17:39 PM »
Hey folks! New member here. Saw the episode of Wheeler Dealers recently and their restoration of a Europa and it peched my interest. I found this one locally on FB Marketplace:

https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/628142635500264

Just wondering about you alls thoughts on the price. The bits and pieces look to be some nice upgrades, but I don't know these cars and not quite sure what to look for.

I'm also concerned about jumping into a garage full of dissembled parts and trying to put the puzzle back together when I've never worked on one of these before. I'm mostly a motorcycle guy and have build choppers. Car-wise I have wrenched on VW bugs, but never anything frame off.

So two questions; #1-am I getting in over my head and #2-whats this project worth?

Thanks in advance!

Offline BDA

Re: Good buy?
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday,September 27, 2022, 04:30:46 PM »
 :Welcome: marklocklear!!

I am not by any stretch an appraiser but it appears this looks like the start of a nice restoration and includes some very nice parts. It seems to have most of the parts needed but it's hard to tell. I don't think the price is out of line.

Friendly suggestion: Sometimes it's useful to people replying to know where you are. The US is not the most vague location we've seen but it might be helpful to include the area of the US or at least the state.

Offline tedtaylor

• TaylorMadeClassicCars
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday,September 27, 2022, 05:08:25 PM »
a bargain!!!   if you don't buy it, someone alerted here will.
TED
"Driving a Lotus is a triumph of bravery over intelligence." Stirling Moss

'13 Evora S
owned nearly 50 Lotus cars over the years!
TaylorMadeClassicCars on WWW and Facebook

Online cazman

« Reply #3 on: Tuesday,September 27, 2022, 07:02:40 PM »
This is s good deal, if you have the chops to put it together.
1973 Europa TCS

Offline Richard48Y