Author Topic: Interesting idea on LA Craigslist  (Read 1228 times)

Offline Grumblebuns

Interesting idea on LA Craigslist
« on: Thursday,May 03, 2018, 07:04:34 AM »
I'm not an engineer to evaluate just how effective this idea is. At the very least, it has a good place to hang aftermarket seat belts.

https://losangeles.craigslist.org/lac/pts/d/lotus-europa-s2twin-cam/6567248057.html

Offline BDA

Re: Interesting idea on LA Craigslist
« Reply #1 on: Thursday,May 03, 2018, 08:54:15 AM »
I first have to say that I can't relate to those who fear falling through their floor. I've never had that fear but maybe I've been blessed with a stouter floor than some (I know the thickness of the original Lotus fiberglass is not very consistent).

Having said that, I think what he's done is pretty interesting. I'm not aware of a problem with old fiberglass and it seems it would just be easier to add a layer of mat or cloth to beef things up. I'm not sure if his firewall braces in the engine compartment would work for me either. I've seen several people replace their firewall with marine plywood and that always seemed like a good way to go.

But I feel I'm being too negative. He's obviously put a lot of thought into it. I would think it would be a very welcome modification to a race or track car!

Offline Grumblebuns

« Reply #2 on: Saturday,May 05, 2018, 11:09:07 AM »
The problem with products and ideas like these are not knowing the background and experience of the people putting out their offerings. I don't know if he's a one man operation working out of his garage with limited knowledge of chassis design or an actual experienced race shop.

What he is selling is interesting. The seat point of attachment at the base is connected to the alloy firewall which in turn is braced to the chassis. The question is how effective is it.   

Offline BDA

« Reply #3 on: Saturday,May 05, 2018, 11:51:02 AM »