Author Topic: Residual Pressure Valves  (Read 1196 times)

Offline EuropaTC

• LotusLand
Residual Pressure Valves
« on: Saturday,September 21, 2013, 12:09:39 AM »
Hi folks,

As some of you know, I was struggling to improve the brake pedal feel after doing a rear disc conversion and was advised to look at fitting a residual pressure valve to the circuit.  This was alien technology to me, so I wandered off to find out a bit more about them and thought I'd post the findings here just in case anyone else is interested.  Of course, after having spent an hour googling for info I'm now a complete expert....     ;) 

Ok, it seems these things come in two flavors,  2psi and 10psi settings. For a disc system you have 2psi, for drum brakes you have 10psi because the additional pressure is needed to overcome the brake shoe retracting springs. If you have a mixed disc/drum set up then either you go with the 2psi or you fit both with the 10psi only acting on the drums. (the info I found says that 10psi causes too much drag with discs)

I've posted a picture with them fitted to my car, I need 2 because it's dual circuit and they are both 2psi valves. When you press the brake pedal the fluid flows without restriction to the calipers but when you release the pedal there is a small valve coming into play which keeps a 2psi pressure in the lines between the valve and caliper pistons. This residual 2psi ensures the pads stay in contact with the discs so that the next time you press the brake you get a quicker response.

So why would you need them ? 

It seems to depend on the layout you have.  If your master cylinder is below the level of the calipers/drums in theory the caliper pistons can retract more than they should and hence when you press the brake you have this initial pressure to build up before you get the onset of real braking pressure.