Author Topic: Paining car  (Read 548 times)

Offline kram350kram

Paining car
« on: Thursday,January 06, 2022, 06:31:20 PM »
For those in the know, best high build over a soda blasted body? Urethane, polyurethane, epoxy, 2K? Thanks for any input.

Offline TurboFource

Re: Paining car
« Reply #1 on: Friday,January 07, 2022, 03:32:21 AM »
It seems that I have read to use epoxy primer on fiberglass……but I am no expert on this….
The more I do the more I find I need to do....

Offline rjbaren

« Reply #2 on: Friday,January 07, 2022, 04:11:22 AM »
I have no idea if this is even a good idea but for what it is worth, how about Barrier coat from the marine industry?  It is a two part epoxy system, sand-able, and made to go on fiberglass.  Interlux, Total Protect, and Pettit Protect, are three brands out there I have heard of.  I used Interlux on bare my boat bottom like twelve years ago and it is still there doing it's job.  Maybe worth looking into?

Offline jbcollier

« Reply #3 on: Friday,January 07, 2022, 08:24:03 AM »
Lotus fibreglass was of questionable quality when new and 50 years aging and exposure haven't helped.  There is no magic spray on product that will permanently cover the problem.  You need to recover the body with veil/tissue cloth and reinforce known problem areas such around door handles, a-pillars, etc.

Offline BDA

« Reply #4 on: Friday,January 07, 2022, 09:28:10 AM »
By "tissue cloth" are you talking about woven fiberglass? I would advise against woven cloth because it's very difficult to keep the weave from bleeding through the paint. I would advise the veil (mat) you mentioned.