Author Topic: Steering wheel help  (Read 1059 times)

Offline Pete

Steering wheel help
« on: Friday,April 30, 2021, 12:58:02 PM »
Is there any way of getting the hard leather repaired on an original steering wheel? I’ve found the original one with the signature engraved on it. But the leather has cracked open. Don’t know how to attempt a repair. All the videos I could find are for new leather wheels or hard plastic ones.
Europa S2 1970 great car
Me complete novice mechanic..
Let’s see how the restore goes.

Offline Dilkris

Re: Steering wheel help
« Reply #1 on: Friday,April 30, 2021, 01:06:20 PM »
"Yes"  - but I don't know exactly where - somewhere in the West Midlands, (Walsall maybe?). There was an episode of Car SOS where Tim Shaw had one done. Keep digging, you'll find it.     

Offline Gary t

« Reply #2 on: Friday,April 30, 2021, 04:18:14 PM »
There are lots of YouTubes of leather covering steering wheels
 It is a opportunity to learn something new.
Gary Toffelmire
54/1173

Offline jbcollier

« Reply #3 on: Friday,April 30, 2021, 06:20:29 PM »

Offline EuropaTC

• LotusLand
« Reply #4 on: Friday,April 30, 2021, 09:48:02 PM »
Hi Pete,

First thing....    are you sure that's the original Europa wheel ? I ask because I always thought that the Chapman signature wheels were on Elans and the OEM wheel on my TC didn't have the signature.  Knowing your uncle had connections with Chris Neils way back, it wouldn't surprise me if he'd picked up an Elan wheel because they used to break & sell Elans & Europas.

Secondly, as Gary says, there are loads of videos on youtube about how to re-cover steering wheels with leather and it's not as hard as you might imagine.  This is where I go back to the question if it's an Elan wheel because there were two sizes and I don't know off hand if it was the Elan or the +2 wheel that matched the Europa, so it's worth measuring before you buy a kit.