Author Topic: Oil pump  (Read 298 times)

Offline Pete

Oil pump
« on: Tuesday,May 04, 2021, 03:56:53 PM »
Is it normal for the oil pump to tick loud when you turn the key once. It’s a very loud pump clicking noise?
But I noticed today that the engine sounds like it’s running dry of oil. I’m not an expert yet. So still getting used to the noises of a lotus. I’ll record it tomorrow. And share a link to it.
Europa S2 1970 great car
Me complete novice mechanic..
Let’s see how the restore goes.

Offline Pete

Re: Oil pump
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday,May 04, 2021, 03:57:30 PM »
Failing that tho. Any recommendations on a new pump?
Europa S2 1970 great car

Offline LotusJoe

• Twink Driver
  • Administrator
  • Forum Administrator
    • LotusEuropa.org
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday,May 04, 2021, 04:13:03 PM »
The oil pump only runs when the engine runs. Are you sure you are not hearing the fuel pump? Sounds like a previous owner may have installed an electric fuel pump. :confused:
Joe Irwin
3927R TC Special
(The Classic Barn Find)

Offline Pete

« Reply #3 on: Tuesday,May 04, 2021, 10:01:37 PM »
Ok. You will be right. It will be that I guess. I only thought it was the oil cos the red oil light comes on
Europa S2 1970 great car

Offline EuropaTC

• LotusLand
« Reply #4 on: Tuesday,May 04, 2021, 10:03:45 PM »
Ditto ^^

Fuel pumps make a ticking sound when you switch on, from  memory the older "SU" types were slow/loud whereas the modern Facet I have fitted is quieter but faster. Have a look around the fuel circuit from tank to carbs and see if there's anything in the line. Generally a cylindrical object (eg SU types)  but the Facet I have is a small cube. There might be an in-line filter before the pump, that's common as well.

Brian

whoops. You're up early.....    I meant "Ditto Lotus Joe"   :)

Offline Pete

« Reply #5 on: Tuesday,May 04, 2021, 10:19:06 PM »