Author Topic: More 4 lotus program on tonight.  (Read 332 times)

Offline Pete

More 4 lotus program on tonight.
« on: Tuesday,June 01, 2021, 02:50:08 PM »
Anyone in the U.K. should watch the more 4 program. With Phil glenister. They are restoring a lotus elite.
Great show.
Europa S2 1970 great car
Me complete novice mechanic..
Let’s see how the restore goes.

Offline 4129R

• Location: Norfolk, United Kingdom, not far from Hethel the home of Lotus.
Re: More 4 lotus program on tonight.
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday,June 01, 2021, 11:44:23 PM »
Anyone in the U.K. should watch the more 4 program. With Phil glenister. They are restoring a lotus elite.
Great show.
£40,000 to buy, and £40,000 to restore to racing condition sound expensive to me.

I didn't realise it has no chassis, just a fibreglass body monocoque.
« Last Edit: Wednesday,June 02, 2021, 06:41:30 AM by 4129R »

Offline lotusfanatic

« Reply #2 on: Wednesday,June 02, 2021, 02:10:42 AM »
I think there was some dispute at one time over the authenticity of the car's history and/or its identification, which was resolved in the end.

What a lovely little car!

Offline Bainford

• Twin Cam 3682R
« Reply #3 on: Wednesday,June 02, 2021, 08:16:02 AM »
Sounds interesting. I'd tune in to that, if it was available. Love the Elite.
The Twin Cam plays the symphony whilst my right foot conducts the orchestra. At 3800 rpm the Mad Pipe Organ joins in.

Trevor

Offline 4129R

• Location: Norfolk, United Kingdom, not far from Hethel the home of Lotus.
« Reply #4 on: Wednesday,June 02, 2021, 10:04:04 AM »
Very strange for such a valuable car to have the engine coming from a fire engine's water pump.

Offline JR73

• Banks Europa S2
« Reply #5 on: Wednesday,June 02, 2021, 02:04:32 PM »
There’s a bit of info that may be of interest on the Coventry Climax engine here;

https://www.hagerty.com/media/hagerty-magazine/coventry-climaxs-inline-four-evolved-water-pumper-to-racing-live-wire/

Offline BDA