Author Topic: Output shaft leaks and a bad memory  (Read 303 times)

Offline jbcollier

Output shaft leaks and a bad memory
« on: Sunday,April 17, 2022, 05:49:10 AM »
I try to keep a detailed log book as I have a poor memory for details. When I started as a mechanic, I remembered everything I ever did on every car I worked on. After 10 years, or so, that part of my brain filled up and exploded, scattering memory fragments everywhere. Now I have a vague idea I probably worked on such and such a car in the past but not quite exactly what I did or when. So, it’s not unusual to take something apart and find things I don’t remember having done. Which leads me to…

When I first did my transaxle, it leaked. I sure as heck wasn’t going to pull it out of the car so I came up with trimming down the fins to allow the seals to be changed from the outside. Did that and it still leaked, albeit a little bit less. And then, one day it stopped leaking. Level stayed up and the outside of the transaxle dry. I figured, correctly, that the seal run had not seated on the inner seal properly until one day’s enthusiastic driving did the trick. I run a twin link so no worries about shimming — more on this later.

While chasing vibration issues, I decided to get the half-shaft balance checked (all good). After that, it started leaking again, big time. So I pulled it apart and fit a new seal and o-ring on the one side. And I noticed some things…

- it was obvious that the seal run had popped back out. I was able to simply push it back in but decided to change the seal anyway. Grease on the end of the half-shaft had enough stiction to pull the seal run out thus leading to my leaking.

- trimming the seal nut fins is a damn good idea. Highly recommend it the next time you do the work. Turns a nightmare job into a synch.