Author Topic: 659R Oil Pan  (Read 1653 times)

Offline LeftAngle

• I don't say much, but when I do, I don't say much.
    • 0659R Photos
659R Oil Pan
« on: Wednesday,May 16, 2018, 07:59:05 PM »
I’ve been holding onto this for 2 years, putting it off.   Tonight, while waiting for my true blue hoses to dry, I pulled the plug.  I won’t be here tomorrow, so by Friday it should be ready to pull the old pan.  I know I’ll have issues with the oil pickup, but once I see what’s needed, I’ll get it set.
Yes, it's work...   No, I don't mind it.

Offline jbcollier

Re: 659R Oil Pan
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday,May 16, 2018, 08:24:23 PM »
Wait!  Mine was porous.  It is much easier to seal it now before it is contaminated with oil.  I had mine powder coated with an extra thick industrial coating and that stopped the leak.

Offline LeftAngle

• 0659R Photos
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday,May 16, 2018, 11:24:51 PM »
Q
Wait!  Mine was porous.

I’m confused... your cast aluminum oil pan was porus?   How can that be, unless the casting were sub-standard, and if it were, there’d Shirley be (pun) evidence of that.

Was the oil leaking around the gasket?  I can see if the mating face were pitted how oil could leak and how powder coating would resolve that.   Mine has been machined and the metal there is solid and flat. 
 I do notice the drain plug is poorly tooled.  If oil was leaking from there, powder coating could help as well.  I didn’t care for the plug and was planning on replacing it with something more substantial.  If that’s where yours was leaking, I can correct that mechanically and have it ready for LOG.

I was planning on powder coating all of my breadbox size and smaller metallic parts, but am holding off until after LOG 38.  If I need to powdercoat the pan, I’ll put the old one back on for now.

Speaking of which, see my next post🤯
« Last Edit: Wednesday,May 16, 2018, 11:42:41 PM by LeftAngle »

Offline jbcollier

« Reply #3 on: Thursday,May 17, 2018, 07:17:09 AM »