Author Topic: Twin Cam Engine Build Head/Head Gasket  (Read 1578 times)

Offline Sherman Kaplan

Twin Cam Engine Build Head/Head Gasket
« on: Thursday,November 08, 2018, 05:17:32 PM »
I'm in the process of rebuilding a Twin Cam engine and have a few questions.   I'm an amateur and this is a retirement project.

1.   In ordering parts I accidentally ended up with two head gaskets.  One is from RD Enterprises and looks like a composite gasket while the second one is from SJ Sportscars and looks to be the original style copper.  Please see the attached pictures.  Any suggestions as to which is better to use?  This will be a street engine to stock specs. It has been bored .030 over.    According to the Miles Wilkins book if I go with the copper gasket it is suggested to coat  it with wellseal.   Any thoughts on this?  I do have a tube so I can do it.   I have also read on the Lotus Elan site where it was recommended to use copper head gasket spray instead of wellseal.  Very confusing?

2.   I ordered the Dave Bean cartridge water pump.   I splurged and went with the gilmer drive.   The gilmer pulley does not have a timing mark.   I have used the original pulley and lined up the timing mark to TDC.   I then put the new gilmer pulley on and temporarily put a paint mark where I  think it lines up with TDC on the timing chest.  I'm sure that when file a mark on the pulley it won't be 100 percent accurate.   Is there any better way to do this?    I'm trusting that if I don't move the crankshaft that I will be OK when putting the timing chain sprockets on the camshafts.