Author Topic: Hellow , New Member  (Read 1312 times)

Offline S2Greg

Hellow , New Member
« on: Sunday,April 17, 2016, 09:06:22 AM »
Hi group. I have recently joined the Europa Forum.  I live in British Columbia, Canada where I work as a Marine Engineer.  I am in my later 50's and hope to semi-retire in a couple more years.
  I have owned my Europa since about 1978 or so. its a pre- federal type 54. A previous owner had swapped it to a Lotus Cortina twin cam but the results were less than ideal.  After spending a lot of effort to keep it running for the first couple years I owned it I came to the conclusion it would need to be returned to Renault power. It came apart, the frame mods of the P.O. were reversed and I began to gather up Renault engine's and parts. Then life got in the way for about the next 30 years.
  It's generally a pretty decent car but needs a good rebuild.  Hopefully the retirement god's are friendly.

Greg

Offline EuropaTC

• LotusLand
Re: Hellow , New Member
« Reply #1 on: Sunday,April 17, 2016, 09:30:32 AM »
 Hi Greg, and  :Welcome:

Wow, 1978, that puts you in the class of "definitely a serious enthusiast", good to have you on the forum.

I can understand the aim to return your car to standard, it's often the easiest way to make sure something works !  Whilst many of us make changes I do think that knowing what the car is like as designed is a good basis for where you go with them.

I'm another early retirement guy and I can tell you now that I'm busier these days than when I had a job to escape to.....   but I don't regret the move for one minute, so make those plans !

Brian

Offline BDA

« Reply #2 on: Sunday,April 17, 2016, 09:37:42 AM »
 :Welcome: S2Greg!

I know where you're talking about life getting in the way. It took me twenty years to get my car on the road!

Also, congratulations on your plans for early retirement! I hope they work out better than you expect!

Please keep us up to date with your car!

:lotus:

Offline andy harwood