Author Topic: TC on ebay  (Read 2741 times)

Offline Sparkrite

TC on ebay
« on: Saturday,January 04, 2020, 01:13:26 AM »
As I am new to these cars and still looking to buy my first one,I would appreciate what you guys think of this one. And as important for me what about the price. I can turn a spanner so any work does not put me off.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/1973-Lotus-Europa/293405871812?_trksid=p2504926.m5232.l9681

Offline Clifton

Re: TC on ebay
« Reply #1 on: Saturday,January 04, 2020, 01:59:20 AM »
Seems like a lot for a car that needs a full restore.  A car like this would save years of time and more in money https://bringatrailer.com/listing/1972-lotus-europa-twin-cam-7/

Offline Certified Lotus

« Reply #2 on: Saturday,January 04, 2020, 04:42:00 AM »
There is an old saying, spend the money to buy the best sports car you can afford. Anything less will be a project.

Having looked at many Europa TC & TC specials over the years before I bought mine, the brown Europa your looking at is pretty much the price range for a car that has all the parts but is in need of a restoration (as long as the chassis is in good condition). $10K more gets you a completely different car and you will easily spend $10K on a restoration.

If your like me and want a restoration project I would buy it. Rebuilding a sports car has a great satisfaction to it and you will know every square inch of the car.

If you are easily distracted or get frustrated don’t buy a project car. Plus you will need a garage space for at least a year to work on it.

Offline Sparkrite

« Reply #3 on: Saturday,January 04, 2020, 05:58:56 AM »
I agree about buying the best will save you in the long run but I want a bit of a project. I can make the car to how I want it and get to know it as well. This one recent sold on ebay for a lot less. I know its a s2 and less valuable but the TC can't be worth more than double so my guess would be $8,000 tops.