Author Topic: Graphogen and Hylomar?  (Read 235 times)

Offline TurboFource

Graphogen and Hylomar?
« on: Sunday,March 27, 2022, 06:02:57 AM »
In the Wilkins Twin Cam book he references the use of Graphogen and Hylomar quite often.
They are a little pricey but I am planning to use them I think…..thoughts? Alternatives?
The more I do the more I find I need to do....

Offline BDA

Re: Graphogen and Hylomar?
« Reply #1 on: Sunday,March 27, 2022, 06:40:37 AM »
I have some experience with Hylomar but not a whole lot. I used to use it for the end cover of the transaxle of my race car. It sealed well and the parts came apart easily. More recently I used it on the joint between the cam carrier and the head (I have a different engine than you). I used it there because it is thinner than silicone and if the cam carrier sits higher on the head, it affects valve lash. This is really a way over abundance of caution. It seems to be sealing there well as well.

In spite of its stellar reputation I haven’t used it for general sealing. I suppose that’s because it’s quicker and easier to get silicone at the local parts store.

Something else to think about is that some synthetic oils are apparently difficult to seal. Red Line seems to be one of them. If you can get to this link you can read of the exploits of a guy trying to seal his twin cam. He may have very high standards for sealing oil leaks and I don’t know if his is a racing or street engine. (https://vintagetechnologygarage.groups.io/g/cars/topic/pesky_oil_leak_on_my_1966/85702351?p=,,,20,0,0,0::recentpostdate/sticky,,,20,2,0,85702351,previd%3D9223372036854775807,nextid%3D1616713550095859132&previd=9223372036854775807&nextid=1616713550095859132).

Offline jbcollier

« Reply #2 on: Sunday,March 27, 2022, 06:42:58 AM »