Author Topic: 54/0651 My unexpected project.  (Read 10383 times)

Offline matmacwac

• If your not Bleeding ... Your not trying.
54/0651 My unexpected project.
« on: Thursday,December 06, 2018, 11:50:18 AM »
I've been enjoying the restoration hobby for about 10 years. Over that time, the trend that has emerged is that I like British cars. It may just be a side effect of the knowledge and experience that you get from the previous project and the spare Lucas parts that accumulate. I also seem to have a bad habit of choosing to rescue cars that should likely have been left to die in peace(s). I have managed to save 6 cars at a rate of about 1 per year. 1945 Willys MB Jeep, 1974 TR6, 1962 MGA, 1958 TR3, 1960 Healey 3000, and now this beautiful little 1969 Europa S2.

The morning of December 2nd, 2017, almost a year ago, my friend Jeff called me, emailed me, and texted me all at the same time. He was very excited. He had just found an ad on the internet for a Lotus Europa that was being sold by an executor for the estate of another fallen gear head. Jeff told me that the ad was posted less than 5 minutes ago and that he was the first person to view it. I said "Great. Are you going to buy it?" He said "No! You are". So, reluctantly, I called the seller and ended up buying it sight unseen over the phone for a $1000 in London Ontario.

Wil
« Last Edit: Thursday,December 06, 2018, 11:59:27 AM by matmacwac »

Offline RoddyMac

Re: 54/0651 My unexpected project.
« Reply #1 on: Thursday,December 06, 2018, 11:56:51 AM »
Wow!  What a steal of a deal on the earliest known S2 Europa.  Please keep us posted on the progress

Offline BDA

« Reply #2 on: Thursday,December 06, 2018, 12:02:38 PM »
You've worked on some interesting cars but I'll bet this Europa was/is the most interesting! She looks great! Speaking for me and the rest of us, we'd love to see more details and more pictures!

Offline matmacwac

« Reply #3 on: Thursday,December 06, 2018, 12:36:00 PM »