Author Topic: Filling up  (Read 1163 times)

Offline Pete

Filling up
« on: Monday,April 26, 2021, 08:35:38 AM »
Okay. I know it’s a bit of a silly question. But I’m totally new to the lotus.  When putting fuel in. Do you have to fill both tanks or can you just fill one and it will move between the two?? I’ve been putting a bit in both at the moment. As I’m only using a Jerry can.
Europa S2 1970 great car
Me complete novice mechanic..
Let’s see how the restore goes.

Offline Dilkris

Re: Filling up
« Reply #1 on: Monday,April 26, 2021, 08:52:15 AM »
No questions are silly  ;) On the twin cam there is a balance pipe between the 2 tanks, so filling one tank fills the other. What I cannot tell you is whether this balance pipe allows for the transfer of fuel between the 2 tanks at the same rate as you are putting it in one of them.  :confused: (I am still rebuilding my car so this is why I am unsure of this.) 
Someone on the Forum will advise how it works for the S2 - which is what you are running I assume.   

Offline Grumblebuns

« Reply #2 on: Monday,April 26, 2021, 08:53:43 AM »
I fill using both tanks, its faster that way. Levels will eventually equalize using one tank to fill up but it may take some time . The tank outlets are tiny, approx 1/8" in diameter.

Offline EuropaTC

• LotusLand
« Reply #3 on: Monday,April 26, 2021, 09:08:41 AM »
I fill using both tanks, its faster that way. Levels will eventually equalize using one tank to fill up but it may take some time . The tank outlets are tiny, approx 1/8" in diameter.
Same here. Although in theory the balance pipe levels up both tanks, you're putting it in with a 1/2" (?) feed and you quickly overrun the balance pipe. Although it looks odd, if you want a full load of fuel you need to fill one side and then top off the other tank.

Brian

Offline Pete

« Reply #4 on: Monday,April 26, 2021, 11:04:13 AM »
Fair enough. I thought it may do that. So with a Jerry can fill I don’t need to both. Just one will do. Lol