Author Topic: Banks Twin Link Rear Suspension  (Read 2687 times)

Offline neilwillatt

Banks Twin Link Rear Suspension
« on: Saturday,April 24, 2021, 04:19:17 AM »
Hi,

New member here.  My name is Neil from Sheffield England. 

Does anybody have any experience with the 'Banks Twin Link Rear Suspension system' which is available from Europa Engineering in England?

I am a retired engineer and instinctively dislike the Chapman fixed length driveshaft arrangement which seems to rely on double roll pins locking the spliced joint between the differential and the driveshafts, thus subjecting the differential and the Hardy Spicer joints to compression and tension forces which they were not really designed to withstand.

Does the Banks system eliminate this and leave the spliced joint to slide slightly with suspension movement as it should.

Any comments welcome, even if they are only to tell me that I have misunderstood the whole thing !

Neil Willatt

Offline TurboFource

Re: Banks Twin Link Rear Suspension
« Reply #1 on: Saturday,April 24, 2021, 04:30:32 AM »
 :Welcome:

I have not gotten that far in my project but I am considering this mod at some point....

Post pics of your Europa!
The more I do the more I find I need to do....

Offline JR73

• Banks Europa S2
« Reply #2 on: Saturday,April 24, 2021, 05:11:36 AM »

You are understanding it correctly, the upper link relieves the driveshaft and transmission of the forces it was originally subjected to as you have described. If the driveshaft fails the suspension remains as it was and the car can still be moved on its wheels (can also refit the crossmember after the engine and transmission have been removed to roll the car about, which you can’t do with the original setup and can be a pita!).

The kit is pretty easy to install and should come with everything you need to complete the job.

Offline MRN I J

• Four Ashes Garage
« Reply #3 on: Saturday,April 24, 2021, 06:16:03 AM »