Author Topic: front brake lockup  (Read 648 times)

Offline Pfreen

front brake lockup
« on: Monday,September 30, 2019, 06:24:31 AM »
I have recently done my brakes, ie new disks, pads, drums and shoes.  They are now bedded in.  I put Mintex 1144's on the front.  The Mintex are much more predictable than the greenstuff pads I had on it.  The Greenstuff seemed to be grabby. I also replaced the drilled rotors with slotted rotors.  The drilled rotors made the brakes sound like my bicycle did when I was 12 when I put a baseball card in the spokes.

Anyway, I have a 7/8" master cylinder with Lockheed boosters.  The front brakes lock up way before the rears do.  A brake balance valve won't help since it reduces the rear brake pressure.  So, I was reading that most American cars use a brake metering valve in systems with front disc, and rear drum brakes.  I have never heard of a British car utilizing one.  Does anyone have experience using one?  This link https://www.freeasestudyguides.com/brake-metering-valve-test.html describes how it works.  It basically delays the braking action of the front brakes to match the braking action of the rear drum brakes.  Discs brakes act pretty much instantly and drum brakes have a delay.

I am thinking about installing this valve https://www.speedwaymotors.com/Brake-Metering-Hold-Off-Valve,8904.html.

Any thoughts or advice?  BTW, I know it is best to have the front lock up first, but I just want the rears to be slightly on the verge of lockup.

Offline jbcollier

Re: front brake lockup
« Reply #1 on: Monday,September 30, 2019, 06:54:18 AM »