Author Topic: Fiberglass printhrough  (Read 198 times)

Offline Pfreen

Fiberglass printhrough
« on: Tuesday,May 16, 2023, 02:13:38 PM »
This post is really an fyi.  Conclude what you want.  I am an amateur body and paint guy.  But, this is what I found.

I prepped, painted, color sanded and polished the fiberglass hood on my Tiger.  I completed that about a year ago.  So, I am completing the car build and was doing a final polish on the car.  I found that the glued on structure behind the hood to stiffen it had printed through to the mirror finish painted side.  This required color sanding and polishing the hood again.  If any of you have ever done this, it is a very nerve racking endeavor because in an instant, you can see primer.

As a side note, I epoxy glued elevator bolts on the underside of the Lotus engine cover to retain the vent grills with 10-24 nuts and screen retainers.  Anyway, after a long period of time, you could see on the engine cover 8 maybe 5/8" diameter circles where the elevator bold were glued.  Sanding and polishing took them out.
Btw, my paint is single stage ppg concept, both cars.

Offline dakazman

Re: Fiberglass printhrough
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday,May 16, 2023, 02:55:01 PM »
  That’s what I’m trying to find an answer for also. I sanded down my clear coat and have yet to buff it back up. I don’t think it is the paint type , but just paint. It shrink wraps everything. I’ve noticed it in metal cars also with both single stage and clear coats.
  Hopefully by adding the different veil types will give a better outcome. I thought it was the temperature changes in the polyester and paint type at first but that’s just not consistent in my findings.
  Dakazman

Offline Richard48Y

« Reply #2 on: Tuesday,May 16, 2023, 04:27:35 PM »
Fiberglass resin "Draws" during and after initial cure.
There are a couple of tricks to make that less of an issue.