Author Topic: New baby delivered...Type 65 S2! with a twist....  (Read 5794 times)

Offline Chuck Nukem

New baby delivered...Type 65 S2! with a twist....
« on: Monday,February 22, 2016, 10:46:11 PM »
Well boys and girls it happened...again. Another Europa for me! I have quite the collection going....
It is claimed to be a 1970 S2 and seems like an early car. Vin was not very visible, but it appeared to be 02xxR. This is my most complete Europa yet!

It rolls!
It shifts gear!
My god!!! I could get used to this!!

Now for the twist. It has a crossflow Renault engine that is fuel injected and appears like it may have once been turbocharged. I am no expert on the Renault stuff so I am hoping someone here will recognize this block. Exhaust is missing, and the manifold has a rectangular flange on the end of it. I found an instrument panel in the trunk from an unknown car which had a turbo gauge on it....Gotta be turbo right?!?! :p I will get some better pics tomorrow. Such an interesting day! You never know what will turn up!

The other possibility might be from a Renault 18i?

Comes complete with rat shit :) Firewall already disintegrated for easy pulley access...
« Last Edit: Monday,February 22, 2016, 10:56:21 PM by Chuck Nukem »

Offline Bainford

• Twin Cam 3682R
Re: New baby delivered...Type 65 S2! with a twist....
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday,February 23, 2016, 06:02:45 AM »
Hhmmm... a very interesting find indeed. I am quite intrigued by that engine, though the FI makes me shudder. Congrats ont he new arrival!  :beerchug:
The Twin Cam plays the symphony whilst my right foot conducts the orchestra. At 3800 rpm the Mad Pipe Organ joins in.

Trevor

Offline BDA

« Reply #2 on: Tuesday,February 23, 2016, 09:03:34 AM »
It seems that you just don't have enough to do, Chuck! If all your other projects haven't already, this one should keep you off the streets! Congratulations on your new toy!  :beerchug:

Offline blasterdad