Author Topic: TCS Shift Linkage Center Bushing - Polyurethane  (Read 10905 times)

Offline 3929R

TCS Shift Linkage Center Bushing - Polyurethane
« on: Thursday,August 02, 2012, 12:28:29 PM »
WARNING- I am not a mechanic and don't know what the hell I'm doing!

I'm not sure where to post this.  It is not much of a technical article but just some pictures of what I used to replace the rubber bushing at the center link/middle pivot of the shift linkage on my TCS. 

In the parts manual for Type 352 and 365 transmissions this bushing is labeled part FB13- http://www.lotuseuropa.org/images/WorkshopManual/PartManual/tcf.pdf  (scroll down to find the correct drawing). 

My (stock?) rubber bushing was very worn, adding to my sloppy shifting woes.  The bushing is very close to the exhaust manifold and I think the heat may have hastened its demise. 

One fix is to replace the pivot with brackets and heim joints - http://www.lotus-europa.com/manuals/files/shift_linkage_mods/Europa%20TC%20Gear%20Shift%20Middle%20Pivot%20Assembly-1.pdf  This set up does not seem to provide any vibration dampening, which I think is why Lotus used a rubber bushing here. 

As rubber suspension bushings are commonly replaced with polyurethane, I thought poly might work here.  Polyurethane should provide some vibration dampening (dependent upon how hard it is) but be more resistant to high heat and hopefully last longer then the rubber.  I found small bits of polyurethane "tube" is sold on eBay.  I found one such piece with nearly correct dimensions, 1/2" ID x 1" OD X 1-1/2" Length, for $6.50 including S&H.  http://www.ebay.com/itm/370460163152?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649#ht_2072wt_780 

The poly "bushing's" OD was just a bit too large so I used my bench grinder as a makeshift lathe and turned it down a millimeter or so.  Then I greased it up, slid it into the pivot sleeve(FB12), and inserted the two steel pivot bushings(FB14).  I think/hope it will work.