Author Topic: Precious Bodily Fluids  (Read 3335 times)

Offline EuropaTC

• LotusLand
Re: Precious Bodily Fluids
« Reply #15 on: Saturday,January 27, 2018, 12:15:50 AM »
A good explanation of why all flat tappet engines aren't the same   :beerchug:

For my money, John has it spot on even before you count his practical experience to back up his logic.  I've used Mobil 1 in various grades since I got my car in the 80s. Initially 5/ or 10/50 IIRC, which was met at the time with cries of "but it will leak everywhere". (it didn't, or at least no more than usual)

xx/50 grade Mobil 1 isn't so common these days over here (although you can get it)  so I've been using 0/40 Mobil 1 in the Elan & Europa for a few years now. Makes zero difference to the oil pressure at any revs and for the mileages I do it's fine. As John says, the cams run in an oil bath and unless you've got very wide follower clearances it's likely to stay in place for months at a time, ready for your next start-up.

I think I've posted this chart before but can't recall where, so as it's relevant to this discussion here is the 2017 Mobil 1 Zn/P specs.

Brian

Offline surfguitar58

« Reply #16 on: Saturday,January 27, 2018, 05:09:28 AM »
Duly noted JB. That kind of experience goes a long way in my book, and your logic holds up quite nicely. As Gary t points out, there may be a bit of unjustified dogma about ZDDP out there. I guess I would counter by saying oil bath or not, we do have a sliding cam-on-flat-surface tappet design (metal-to-metal line contact) that was designed with understanding that zinc laced oil would be available, which was taken away for reasons having no regard for the welfare of our engines, and our engines are notorious for having lubrication issues (as dryly noted by this clown at minute 4:19 of this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bwoHmubxDIg ).